Clermont-Ferrand, February 14, 2014

Camilla Hoitenga plays two French Premieres of works by Kaija Saariaho

La Comédie, Clermont-Ferrand's national theatre, dedicates a concert of its music seasaon to Kaija
Saariaho. Under the title
Music for the Rothko Chapel, the program presents works by Ravel, Debussy, and, of course: Saariaho.
For Camilla Hoitenga this concert is once more a continuation of her intense and long lasting work with the Finnish composer.
Camilla will open the concert with Dolce Tormento, a work for piccolo solo Saariaho wrote for her in 2004. Her next appearance will be with another work by Saariaho, the French Premiere of the new version of Saariaho's Tocar for flute and harp, together with Heloïse Dautry (harp). Again together with Heloïse Dautry, Camilla will present extracts from Debussy's Six épigraphes antiques for flute and harp.
In the final piece of the concert, Camilla will play the solo bass flute in the French Premiere of Saariaho's Sombre for bass flute, baritone, harp, percussion and contrabass. This piece was inspired by the Rothko Chapel in Houston, Texas, and by three of Ezra Pound’s late Cantos. Camilla already performed the part of the bass flute, written for her, in the World Premiere on February 23 and 24, 2013 at the Rothko Chapel.

February 14, 2014 – Clermont-Ferrand (France), Opéra-théâtre, 8:30 p.m.


Music for the Rothko ChapelDetailed program

Saariaho: Dolce Tormento (2004) for piccolo solo
Ravel: Deux mélodies hébraïques, for baritone and harp
Saariaho: Tocar (1982) for flute and harp – French Premiere of the new version
Debussy: from Six épigraphes antiques for flute and harp
De La Presle: Le Jardin mouillé (1913) for harp solo
Kaija Saariaho, Sombre (2012) for bass flute, baritone, harp, percussion and contrabass – French Premiere

Camilla Hoitenga (flute) – Heloïse Dautry (harp) – Sombre Ensemble (Lionel Peintre, baritone, Norbert
Kraemer, percussion, Heloïse Dautry, harp, and Charlotte Testu, contrabass)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.